Does our democracy need an update? Have we relied too long on the fact that nothing can shake our democracy? Democracy can only exist if we are constantly working on it. In a world that changes every day, it needs to be kept fit all the time. So, it's time to strengthen our democratic muscles!

Every aspect of democracy has been designed, therefore it can be designed differently. This observation applies not only to ballots or posters. It applies above all to the system itself: Who represents the people? What role do parties play? And who is allowed to vote and have a say? Everything that constitutes democracy according to the Western model is under scrutiny. Does it actually deliver what it promises? Is “for all” really for all? And what would happen if elections were not the sole centerpiece of democracy?

Every aspect of democracy has been designed, therefore it can be designed differently.

The exhibition All in! Re-Designing democracy is a call for active participation – both in the exhibition and in democracy itself. It is about participating in power. In fact, a more direct form of democratic co-determination is already being tested in various places. The German Bundestag, for example, has set up a Food Council, in Belgium there is a permanent citizens' parliament, and numerous cities allow their citizens to have a direct say on various issues. As part of the exhibition, the Bundeskunsthalle also had such a council: the Bundeskunsthalle's Society Forum, consisting of 35 randomly selected citizens, was convened to help democratize and open up the museum.

The exhibition also features a “gym” where we can all exercise our “democratic muscles”. Visitors can experience first-hand what it means to be empathetic, to show tenacity and to negotiate compromises. In addition, All in! Redesigning democracy sheds light on society's current push for more participation, as well as on traditional forms of democracy. How have people fought for democracy, for equal rights and freedom? In addition to art and design, evidence from political cultural history, architecture, film and photography will be on display.

#AllIn

Plan your visit

The next events

Contact & Partners

Curators

📧 Johanna Adam
Amelie Klein
Vera Sacchetti

Press Officer

📧 Sven Bergmann

Exhibition Design

Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik

Booking of tours & workshops

buchung (at) bundeskunsthalle.de
+49 228 9171–243

Cooperation Partner

In cooperation with Kunstgewerbemuseum/Design Campus, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Logo: Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden



We would like to thank Austria Kultur International / Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs for their kind support.

Medienpartner

Cultural Partner

Braucht die Demokratie ein Update? Haben wir uns zu lange darauf verlassen, dass unsere Demokratie durch nichts zu erschüttern ist? Mit Demokratie ist es nämlich so: Es gibt sie nur, wenn wir fortwährend an ihr arbeiten. In einer Welt, die sich täglich verändert, muss sie ständig fit gehalten werden. Es ist also Zeit, unsere demokratischen Muskeln zu stärken!

Alle Aspekte der Demokratie sind gestaltet, also können wir sie auch anders gestalten. Dies gilt nicht nur für Wahlzettel oder Plakate. Es gilt vor allem für das System selbst: Wer übernimmt die Vertretung des Volkes? Welche Rolle spielen Parteien? Und wer darf wählen und mitbestimmen? Auf dem Prüfstand steht derzeit alles, was die Demokratie nach westlichem Vorbild ausmacht: Hält sie eigentlich, was sie verspricht? Ist „für alle“ wirklich für alle? Und was würde geschehen, wenn Wahlen nicht das alleinige Herzstück der Demokratie wären?

Alle Aspekte der Demokratie sind gestaltet, also können wir sie auch anders gestalten.

Die Ausstellung Für alle! Demokratie neu gestalten ist ein Aufruf zur aktiven Beteiligung – und zwar an der Ausstellung ebenso wie an der Demokratie an sich. Es geht um das Mitmachen an der Macht. Tatsächlich wird eine direktere Form demokratischer Mitbestimmung bereits an verschiedenen Orten erprobt. Der Bundestag etwa hat einen Rat für Ernährung eingesetzt, in Belgien gibt es ein permanentes Bürger-Parlament, und zahlreiche Städte lassen ihre Bürger*innen bei verschiedenen Themen direkt mitbestimmen. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung hat auch die Bundeskunsthalle einen solchen Rat einberufen: Das Gesellschafts-Forum, bestehend aus 35 per Zufall gewählten Bürger*innen, wurde eingesetzt, um an der Demokratisierung und Öffnung des Hauses mitzuwirken.

In der Ausstellung entsteht zudem ein „Fitness-Studio“, in dem wir alle unseren demokratischen Muskel trainieren können: Besucherinnen und Besucher spüren am eigenen Leib, was es bedeutet, empathisch zu sein, langen Atem zu beweisen oder Kompromisse auszuhandeln. Darüber hinaus beleuchtet Für alle! Demokratie neu gestalten den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Wunsch nach mehr Teilhabe, ebenso wie die traditionellen Formen der Demokratie. Wie wurde bislang für Demokratie gekämpft, für gleiche Rechte und Freiheit? Neben Kunst und Design werden Zeugnisse aus der politischen Kulturgeschichte, der Architektur sowie aus Film und Fotografie zu sehen sein.

#FürAlle

Planen Sie Ihren Besuch

Die nächsten Veranstaltungen

Kontakt & Partner

Kurator*innen

📧 Johanna Adam
Amelie Klein
Vera Sacchetti

Pressesprecher

📧 Sven Bergmann

Ausstellungsgestaltung

Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik

Buchung von Führungen & Workshops

buchung (at) bundeskunsthalle.de
+49 228 9171–243

Kooperationspartner

In Kooperation mit dem Kunstgewerbemuseum/Design Campus, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden.

Logo: Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden



Wir danken Austria Kultur International / Bundesministerium für europäische und internationale Angelegenheiten für die freundliche Unterstützung.

Medienpartner

Kulturpartner