STUDIO BONN is the new public think tank of the Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany. Join artists, scientists, programmers and activists discussing models of care for global communal infrastructure - mental, physical and digital. The events will remain accessible online in the form of videos and podcasts in both German and English and invite further collective discussion. Supplemented by in-depth essays, a ‘coral reef’ of long-term thinking about the common ground aggregates. Watch it grow on www.studiobonn.io.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future

The Common Ground
404 – Europe not found

Thursday, 9 December, 7.00 pm – in 2G!
Live in the Forum (admission 6–6.55 pm) and livestreamed
€10/conc. €5 incl. public transport (VRS only) through Bonnticket

Do school and university prepare me sufficiently for life in the Europe of the future? Why are there so many different excuses for the fact that digitalisation does not work Europe-wide, even though we allegedly all want the same thing? Is there a young, European consciousness; is democracy in danger? And where do we actually find our much-vaunted European culture? Studio Bonn celebrates the launch of the podcast Europe, what’s up? It offers a forum for young Europeans to ask questions about Europe and for experts to answer them.

Europe, what’s up? is produced in cooperation with the initiative culture-council.eu. Its co-founder Janis Gebhardt has travelled to six European countries to collect the voices of the generation that is in the process of discovering Europe and to record their hopes and their scepticism. The first three episodes will be released on 9 December with responses by the historian Ute Frevert and Quang Paasch from Fridays for Future. The fourth episode will be recorded that evening in the Forum of the Bundeskunsthalle.

The young Europeans are represented by 21-year-old Rus Gheorghiu Eva Iulia from Timișoara (Romania) and 20-year-old Artūrs Zāģeris from Riga (Latvia). They are joined by Johannes Nichelmann, journalist, book author and presenter of Europe, what’s up?

The ‘other side’ is made up of the entrepreneur Ghazaleh Koohestanian, founder and CEO of re2you, who works on solutions for European data sovereignty; philosopher Lorenzo Marsili („Wir heimatlosen Weltbürger“, Suhrkamp 2019), founder of the pan-European party DiEM25 with Yanis Varoufakis and campaiger for a more democratic, just and culturally open Europe with the organisation European Alternatives; and political analyst Sophie Pornschlegel, currently a fellow at the European Policy Centre (EPC) in Brussels. They talk about what could and should work better in Europe – and the contribution that digital and cultural infrastructure could make.

EUROPE, WHAT'S GOING ON?
From 9 December 2021 wherever there are podcasts!

Supported with funds from Neustart Kultur

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future

Exchange Values
TO WHOM DOES ART BELONG?

Saturday, 20 November 2021, 7.00 pm
Live in the Forum (admission 6.30-6.55 pm) and livestreamed
€10/conc. €5 incl. public transport (VRS only) through Bonnticket

Part of the symposium The Public Role of Private Collections

Please note: Unfortunately, Chus Martínez cannot take part for health reasons.

What connects Renaissance princely portraits with digital art and NFTs? How do forms of collecting differ in different forms of society? How do decentralized collectives challenge museums, and what new concepts of art do they make conceivable? Is the accumulation of art treasures still in keeping with the times?   Studio Bonn moderator Kolja Reichert discusses these questions with Eike Schmidt, director of the Uffizi in Florence, the artist Harm van den Dorpel as well as curator and professor Clémentine Deliss.

As director of the Uffizi Galleries in Florence, Eike Schmidt is in charge of the very origins of private art collecting. During the NFT boom in spring 2021, the Uffizi sold a digital copy of Michelangelo’s Tondo Doni. In an interview with the business newspaper Handelsblatt, Schmidt recently commented that ‘very soon the far more interesting dialogues will no longer take place in museums or galleries, but in the metaverse.’

Harm van den Dorpel has been dealing with certificates of ownership for digital art for years. He recently sold off all the works of the Left Gallery, which he had founded, thereby securing some unexpected income for himself and his fellow artists. He is currently advising a group of Dutch collectors, whose collections date back to the 17th century, on the possibilities of blockchain-based DAOs (Decentralised Autonomous Organisations).

Clémentine Deliss is Global Humanities Professor of History of Art, University of Cambridge (2021-2022) and Associate Curator of KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin, where she directs the Metabolic Museum-University. Her practice crosses the borders of contemporary art, curatorial experimentation, and critical anthropology. Between 2010–2015, she directed the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt instituting a new lab for post-ethnographic research. She was a Fellow of the Institute of Advanced Study Berlin and has taught art theory and curatorial practice at the Ecole nationale supérieur Paris-Cergy, Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design, and the Hamburg University of the Arts. Her book “The Metabolic Museum” is published by Hatje Cantz in co-production with KW (2020) and in Russian translation with Garage Publishing (2021).

TO WHOM DOES ART BELONG? is the second iteration of Studio Bonn in the series devoted to the subject of ‘Exchange Values’, which began in July with Crypto-Capitalism with Hito Steyerl, Joseph Vogl and Ville Haimala. With Exchange Values, Studio Bonn asks what is of value in society? How much is it worth and why? And how have the dynamics of value formation changed? The panel takes a closer look at the opportunities of blockchain technology for new models of participation.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future
The Bundeskunsthalle Discourse Format

The Common Ground
LAST FLIGHT KABUL

Perspectives for Art and Culture in Afghanistan
Tuesday, 12 October, 7.00 pm, live in the Forum (admission: 6.00 - 6.55 pm)
and livestreamed in German (YouTube) und Dari (Facebook), English will follow soon
€10/concessions €5 incl. public transport (VRS only) through Bonnticket

Artists fled – if they were able to; in the Bamiyan valley, cultural treasures were looted and sold off, and the Chinese mining lease for the copper mine beneath the important archaeological site in Mes Aynak is up for renegotiation. In the wake of the Taliban’s return to power, Afghanistan has once again entered a period of uncertainty. What will remain of the institutions that have been built up over the past twenty years, partly with German involvement? What are the prospects for the preservation of Afghanistan’s rich cultural heritage? And how can the cultural isolation of the country be prevented? The filmmaker Sahraa Karimi, the director of the National Music Institute Ahmad Sarmast, the diplomat Martin Kobler and the exhibition manager of the Bundeskunsthalle Susanne Annen discuss these questions with the journalist and moderator Natalie Amiri at STUDIO BONN.

In May 2019, film director Sahraa Karimi, born in Tehran in 1985, became the first woman to head the Afghan Film Organisation, founded in 1968. She was forced to leave the country after the Taliban seized Kabul in late August 2021. Her film Hava, Maryam, Ayesha premiered at the Venice Film Festival in 2019.

Ahmad Naser Sarmast, born in 1963, is an ethnomusicologist. He graduated from the Afghan Academy of Music in 1981, left the country during the civil war in the early 1990s and returned after the defeat of the Taliban. In 2010, he opened the National Music Institute in Kabul; in 2014 he was injured in a Taliban suicide attack. In August 2021, the Taliban’s return to power forced him to leave the country; he now lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Martin Kobler, born in Stuttgart in 1953, was German ambassador to Pakistan, (2017-2019), Iraq (2006-2007) and Egypt (2003-2006). He led UN missions in Libya (2015-2017), Congo (2013-2015), Iraq (2011-2013), and Afghanistan (2010-2011). From 2007 to 2010, he was head of the Department of Culture and Communication at the German Foreign Office, and from 2000 to 2003, he was head of the office of Foreign Minister Joschka Fischer. The blowing up of the Buddha statues in the Bamiyan Valley by the Taliban in March 2001 and the deployment of International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) troops in Afghanistan thus occurred during his time in office. More recently, he has been involved in private cultural sponsorship in Afghanistan as a member of the board of trustees of the Gerda Henkel Foundation.

As exhibition manager of the Bundeskunsthalle, Susanne Annen, born in Meerbusch in 1965, curated the 2010 exhibition Afghanistan. Recovered Treasures. The Collection of the National Museum in Kabul. She then worked in Kabul as an advisor to the Afghan Ministry of Information and Culture, organising and designing collections, excavations and exhibitions.

Natalie Amiri, born in Munich in 1978 as the daughter of a German mother and an Iranian father, reported from Tehran as an ARD correspondent from 2007 and was nominated for the German Television Award in 2019. Amiri hosts the ARD program Weltspiegel as well as Euroblick on Bavarian Television. A bestselling author, she has repeatedly travelled to Afghanistan and is currently working on a book about the country.

Abb.: Rada Akbar, Colourful Life, 2011© Rada Akbar

_____
The 3G rule (Geimpft, Genesen or Getestet, meaning fully vaccinated, recovered or tested) applies at events. Admission only with proof of vaccination/recovery or a negative Covid test.
In light of the nature of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Bundeskunsthalle reserves the right to cancel events at short notice. By the same token, the regulations governing your visit may change. Before your visit, please check the latest updates regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future
The Bundeskunsthalle Discourse Format

The Common Ground
HOW WE RELATE TO ONE ANOTHER

Monday, 20 September, 8:15 pm, live in the Forum (doors open: 7.15–8.10 pm)
and livestreamed
€12 / concessions €8 incl. public transport (VRS only) through Bonnticket

Are political struggles drowned out by identity politics? Or do the growing self-confidence of minorities and the multiplication of perspectives simply reveal just how much (white, Western European, Christian) identity politics have always determined our society? How does embracing the new courtesies and agonising over the correct forms of expression affect the way we live together? Is freedom of expression under threat, or is it only just beginning to be being fought for? On 20 September 2021, journalist Petra Gerster and journalist Mohamed Amjahid will discuss these questions with Studio Bonn host Kolja Reichert in an installation by artist Verena Issel.

For more than twenty years Petra Gerster (born 1955 in Worms) worked as anchor for the ZDF’s daily news magazine heute – where she introduced the ‘gender star’ (glottal stop to signal gender inclusive use of gendered suffixes). Since her departure from the news at the end of May 2021, Petra Gerster has been writing a book on identity politics with her husband, the journalist Christian Nürnberger, which will be published in November (Vermintes Gelände. Wie der Krieg um Wörter unsere Gesellschaft verändert (‘Minefield – How the War Over Words is Changing Our Society’, Heyne 2021). At Studio Bonn, she will talk about her observations and thoughts for the first time in public.

In his books, newspaper articles and social media posts, political scientist and journalist Mohamed Amjahid (born 1988 in Frankfurt / Main) shows how structural racism works – and what a society and language could look like that afford everyone equal rights and respect. Mohamed Amjahid’s most recent publication is Der Weiße Fleck: Eine Anleitung zu antirassistischem Denken (‘The White Stain: A Guide to Antiracist Thinking’, Piper 2021), the one before Unter Weißen: Was es heißt, privilegiert zu sein (‘Among Whites: What it Means to be Privileged’, Hanser Berlin 2017).

In colourful collages and installations made of low-cost materials, Verena Issel (born 1982 in Munich) builds revenants of art historical forms – and questions their validity in the digital present, which is determined by a dissolution of forms. For Studio Bonn, Verena Issel transforms her site-specific installation SOFT RUINS (Aset in Tadmor II) (2018/2021) into a tv studio. The installation with ancient columns made of pastel-coloured foam was created in the wake of the destruction of the temple complex of Palmyra (also known as Tadmor) by the Islamic State in 2015. Aset is the Middle Egyptian name for Isis, the Egyptian goddess of destruction and reconstruction.

_____
The 3G rule (Geimpft, Genesen or Getestet, meaning fully vaccinated, recovered or tested) applies at events. Admission only with proof of vaccination/recovery or a negative Covid test.
In light of the nature of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Bundeskunsthalle reserves the right to cancel events at short notice. By the same token, the regulations governing your visit may change. Before your visit, please check the latest updates regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future

Exchange Values
CRYTPO-CAPITALISM (English with German interpretation)
July 15, 8.15pm GMT-1, Live in the Forum of the Bundeskunsthalle (Admission only until 8.10 pm)
12 €/reduced. 8 € incl. VRS via Bonnticket

The craze around crypto art and NFTs (non-fungible tokens, i.e. digital certificates of ownership) blurs the boundaries of culture, economy and politics. Does blockchain technology offer ways out of parasitic platform capitalism, in which all users feed the ledgers of tech gigants? Or will it lead to even greater inequality and the complete financialization of human relationships? Artist Hito Steyerl, the cultural scientist Joseph Vogl and the musician Ville Haimala, one half of the duo Amnesia Scanner, discuss the opportunities and risks of a decentralised internet for the arts and democracy.

HITO STEYERL uses the latest control and surveillance technologies as artistic tools. Her highly alert video installations and essays have made her one of the world’s most influential contemporary artists and theorists.

In his book “Kapital und Ressentiment” (C.H. Beck 2021), the philosopher and literary scholar JOSEPH VOGL continues his investigation of the financial industry and shows how its alliance with platform corporations has turned populism into a lucrative business model.

VILLE HAIMALA’s band Amnesia Scanner (with Martti Kalliala) creates sublime, floating stills of information overload full of contradictory signals. Haimala has worked with various artists, for example with Anne Imhof on her current exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future

The Common Ground
CULTURE AND CLASS STRUGGLE
(German with English subtitles)
Henrike Naumann, Andreas Reckwitz, Anke Stelling

STUDIO BONN moves into Henrike Naumann’s tilted post-’89 living room installation “Ostalgie” (2019). Sociologist Andreas Reckwitz (“The Society of Singularities”, Polity 2020), writer Anke Stelling (“Higher Ground”, Scribe US 2021) and artist Henrike Naumann discuss an escalated economy of valorisation and aesthetic displacement.

Digitalisation has taken the debate about what is culturally valuable out of museums and into everyday life. Everybody judges everyone else; everybody is an artist, a critic and a work. Some seek to assert themselves through the originality of their lifestyle, others by defending the putative authenticity of their roots. But if everything and everyone can become a cultural asset, what is the role of the work of art?

A conversation about the changing dynamics of what society deems valuable, the covert class struggle through culture and the connection between culture and populism.

Using Ebay furniture, Henrike Naumann explores German psycho-geographies after 1989. Anke Stelling's novels expose the delusion of self-realisation. In his book Society of Singularities, Andreas Reckwitz has developed a cultural theory that explains the rise of populism and that details the role the increased significance of culture plays in that rise.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future

The Common Ground
THE FUTURE OF CULTURAL POLITICS
(German only)
Monika Grütters, Eva Kraus

Since the opening of the Bundeskunsthalle in 1992, the political value of culture has steadily risen. This can be seen in the budget increases that Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media Monika Grütters has achieved in her eight years in office – most recently in the two billion euros for culture to alleviate the consequences of the Corona pandemic. But do politicians really understand how culture works and what it achieves? Are the existing instruments enough to safeguard the work of artists? How do cultural institutions need to change? Is there a need for a Federal Ministry of Culture? And what remains of the cultural sovereignty of the individual states that make up the FRG? At the premiere of STUDIO BONN, Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, Monika Grütters, artistic director Eva Kraus and Kolja Reichert discuss the future of cultural policy.

Kolja Reichert
As programme curator with a focus on discourse at the Bundeskunsthalle, Kolja Reichert (38) originated and chairs the newly created STUDIO BONN programme series. The well-known art critic, writer and curator, studied philosophy and modern German literature at the Free University of Berlin. Since 2006, Kolja Reichert has been writing feature articles about music, art and urban development. Between 2016 and 2017, he was responsible for the art coverage of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, until 2020 of that of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung. He has taught at various universities and written essays for exhibition catalogues, most recently on the works of Franz Erhard Walther and Kai Althoff. In 2012, he was the recipient of the Art Criticism Prize awarded jointly by the Association of German Kunstvereins and the Art Cologne. In 2018, the Berlin Academy awarded him the Will Grohmann Prize. In September 2021, his book Kryptokunst will be published in the Wagenbach Digitale Bildkulturen series.

Show bibliography
Illustrations

Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Museumsmeile Bonn
Helmut-Kohl-Allee 4
53113 Bonn
T +49 228 9171–200

Opening hours

Mondays closed
Tuesdays and Wednesdays, 10 a.m.–9 p.m.
Thursdays–Sundays, 10 a.m.–7 p.m.
(including public holidays even those which fall on Mondays)

Studio Bonn ist das neue Diskurs-Format der Bundeskunsthalle. Als öffentlicher Think Tank richtet es sich an Expert*innen wie an ein allgemein interessiertes Publikum. Internationale Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Programmierer*innen oder Aktivist*innen diskutieren live in der Bundeskunsthalle, im Kanzlerbungalow und anderen Orten Fragen, welche die Gesellschaften von morgen bestimmen werden. In deutsch- und englischsprachigen Videos und Podcasts bleiben die Veranstaltungen zugänglich und laden zum kollektiven Weiterdiskutieren ein. Ergänzt um vertiefende Essays, wächst so ein Korallenriff langfristigen Nachdenkens über unseren Common Ground.

 

STUDIO BONN. Diskurs in der Bundeskunsthalle

The Common Ground
404 – EUROPE NOT FOUND
Donnerstag, 9. Dezember, 19 Uhr – in 2G!
Live im Forum (Einlass 18–18:55 Uhr) und im Livestream
10 €/erm. 5 € inkl. VRS über Bonnticket

Im Rahmen der Veröffentlichung des Podcasts: EUROPA, WAS LOS?

Gibt es ein junges, europäisches Bewusstsein? Junge Europäer*innen stellen Fragen an Europa, und Expert*innen antworten.
Bereiten mich Schule und Studium ausreichend auf ein Leben im Europa der Zukunft vor? Weshalb funktioniert die Digitalisierung überall aus anderen Gründen nicht, obwohl vermeintlich doch alle das Gleiche wollen? Gibt es ein junges, europäisches Bewusstsein, oder ist die Demokratie in Gefahr? Und wo ist unsere viel beschworene europäische Kultur eigentlich zu finden? Studio Bonn feiert Premiere des Podcasts „Europa, was los?“. Junge Europäer*innen stellen darin Fragen an Europa, und Expert*innen antworten.

„Europa, was los?“ entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit der Initiative culture-council.eu. Deren Mitgründer Janis Gebhardt hat in sechs europäischen Ländern Stimmen der Generation gesammelt, die Europa gerade erst für sich entdeckt, ihre Hoffnungen und ihre Skepsis. Am 9. Dezember werden die ersten drei Folgen veröffentlicht, in denen die Historikerin Ute Frevert oder Quang Paasch von Fridays for Future antworten. Und die vierte Folge wird an diesem Abend im Forum der Bundeskunsthalle aufgezeichnet.

Auf der einen Seite sitzen die 21-jährige RUS GHEORGHIU EVA IULIA aus Timișoara (Rumänien) und der 20-jährige ARTÛRS ZÂÌERIS aus Riga (Lettland). Mit dabei JOHANNES NICHELMANN, Journalist, Autor und Moderator von „Europa, was los?“. Ihnen gegenüber sitzen die Entrepreneurin GHAZALEH KOOHESTANIAN, die mit ihrem Unternehmen re2you Lösungen für europäische Datensouveränität erarbeitet; der Philosoph LORENZO MARSILI, der mit Yanis Varoufakis die paneuropäische Partei DiEM25 gründete und sich mit der Organisation European Alternatives für ein demokratischeres, gerechteres und kulturell offeneres Europa einsetzt; und die Politikanalystin SOPHIE PORNSCHLEGEL, derzeit Fellow am European Policy Centre (EPC) in Brüssel. Gemeinsam sprechen sie darüber, was in Europa besser funktionieren könnte – und was digitale und kulturelle Infrastruktur dazu beitragen könnten.

Außerdem:
EUROPA, WAS LOS?
Ab 9. Dezember überall, wo es Podcasts gibt!

Gefördert mit Mitteln aus Neustart Kultur

 

STUDIO BONN. Diskurs in der Bundeskunsthalle

Tauschwerte
WEM GEHÖRT DIE KUNST?

Samstag, 20. November 2021, 19 Uhr
Live im Forum (Einlass 18.30–18:55 Uhr) und im Livestream
10 €/erm. 5 € inkl. VRS über Bonnticket

Im Rahmen des Symposiums "Die Rolle von Privatsammlungen für die Öffentlichkeit"

Hinweis: Chus Martínez kann leider aus gesundheitlichen Gründen nicht teilnehmen.

Was verbindet die Fürstenporträts der Renaissance mit digitaler Kunst und NFTs? Wie unterscheiden sich Formen des Sammelns je nach Gesellschaftsform? Wie fordern dezentrale Kollektive die Museen heraus, und welche neuen Kunstbegriffe werden dadurch denkbar? Ist die Anhäufung von Kunstschätzen noch zeitgemäß? Darüber diskutiert Studio Bonn-Moderator Kolja Reichert mit dem Direktor der Uffizien Eike Schmidt, dem Künstler Harm van den Dorpel und der Kuratorin und Professorin Clémentine Deliss.

Als Direktor der Uffizien in Florenz verwaltet Eike Schmidt die Ursprünge privaten Kunstsammelns. Während des NFT-Booms im Frühjahr 2021 verkauften auch die Uffizien eine digitale Kopie von Michelangelos „Tondo Doni“. Im Interview mit dem „Handelsblatt“ äußerte Schmidt jüngst, „dass sich schon sehr bald die weitaus interessanteren Dialoge nicht in Museen oder Galerien, sondern im Metaverse abspielen werden“.

Harm van den Dorpel beschäftigt sich seit Jahren mit Eigentumszertifikaten für digitale Kunst. Kürzlich verkaufte er alle Werke der von ihm gegründeten „Left Gallery“ aus und sicherte damit sich und Künstlerkolleg*innen unverhoffte Einkommen. Aktuell berät er eine Gruppe niederländischer Sammler*innen, deren Sammlungen ins 17. Jahrhundert zurückreichen, hinsichtlich der Möglichkeiten Blockchain-basierter DAOs (Dezentraler Autonomer Organisationen).

Clémentine Deliss ist Global Humanities Professor of History of Art an der Universität Cambridge und Assoziierte Kuratorin in den Kunst-Werken Berlin. Von 2010 bis 2015 leitete sie das Frankfurter Weltkulturen Museum, wo sie Schriftsteller*innen, Künstler*innen und Designer*innen einlud, mit Objekten aus den Sammlungen praktisch zu forschen, um sie aus den Schubladen der Ethnologie zu befreien. In ihrem Buch „The Metabolic Museum“ (Hatje Cantz 2020) legt Deliss dar, wie Museen ihre Sammlungen in lebendige Bildungs- und Forschungsstätten verwandeln könnten, die allen Menschen offen stehen.

„Wem gehört die Kunst?“ ist das zweite Studio Bonn des Themenzyklus „Tauschwerte“, der im Juli mit „Krypto-Kapitalismus“ mit Hito Steyerl, Joseph Vogl und Ville Haimala begann. Mit „Tauschwerte“ fragt Studio Bonn, was in der Gesellschaft warum welchen Wert hat und wie sich die Dynamiken der Wertbildung geändert haben. Insbesondere geht es um die Chancen der Blockchain-Technologie für neue Modelle der Teilhabe.

Abbildungen © Le Gallerie degli Uffizi, Florenz

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future
Das Diskursformat der Bundeskunsthalle

The Common Ground
LETZTER FLUG KABUL

Perspektiven für Kunst und Kultur in Afghanistan
Dienstag, 12. Oktober, 19 Uhr, live im Forum (Einlass: 18–18.55 Uhr)
und im Livestream mit simultaner Übersetzung: Deutsch, Dari und Englisch
10 €/erm. 5 € inkl. VRS über Bonnticket

Künstler*innen sind geflohen, wenn sie konnten, Kulturschätze im Bamiyan-Tal wurden geplündert und zum Kauf angeboten – und die chinesischen Schürfrechte für die Kupfermine unter der Ausgrabungsstätte in Mes Aynak stehen vor der Neuverhandlung. Nach der erneuten Machtübernahme durch die Taliban ist in Afghanistan abermals eine Zeit der Ungewissheit angebrochen. Was bleibt von den Institutionen, die in den vergangenen zwanzig Jahren aufgebaut wurden, auch durch deutsches Engagement? Welche Perspektiven gibt es für den Kulturerhalt? Und wie lässt sich die kulturelle Abschottung des Landes noch verhindern? Darüber diskutieren die Filmemacherin Sahraa Karimi, der Direktor des Nationalen Musikinstituts Ahmad Sarmast, der Diplomat Martin Kobler und die Ausstellungsleiterin der Bundeskunsthalle Susanne Annen mit der Journalistin und Moderatorin Natalie Amiri bei STUDIO BONN.

Die Regisseurin Sahraa Karimi, 1985 in Teheran geboren, leitete seit Mai 2019 als erste Frau die 1968 gegründete Afghan Film Organisation. Nach der Einnahme Kabuls durch die Taliban Ende August 2021 musste sie das Land verlassen. Ihr Film "Hava, Maryam, Ayesha" feierte 2019 auf den Filmfestspielen von Venedig Premiere.

Ahmad Naser Sarmast, 1963 geboren, ist Musikethnologe. Er schloss 1981 sein Studium an der afghanischen Musikhochschule ab, verließ während des Bürgerkriegs Anfang der 1990er Jahre das Land und kehrte nach der Niederlage der Taliban zurück. 2010 eröffnete er das Nationale Musikinstitut in Kabul. 2014 wurde er bei einem Selbstmordanschlag der Taliban verletzt. Im August 2021 musste er nach der Rückkehr der Taliban an die Macht das Land verlassen. Er lebt in Melbourne, Australien.

Martin Kobler, 1953 in Stuttgart geboren, war deutscher Botschafter in Pakistan,  (2017-2019), Irak (2006-2007) und Ägypten (2003-2006). Zuvor leitete er UN-Missionen in Libyen (2015-2017), Kongo (2013-2015), Irak (2011-2013) und Afghanistan (2010-2011). Von 2007 bis 2010 war er Leiter der Abteilung für Kultur und Kommunikation im Auswärtigen Amt, von 2000 bis 2003 Büroleiter des Außenministers Joschka Fischer. In seine Zeit fiel damit die Sprengung der Buddha-Statuen im Bamiyan-Tal durch die Taliban im März 2001 und der Einmarsch der ISAF-Truppen in Afghanistan. Als Kuratoriumsmitglied der Gerda-Henkel-Stiftung war er in den letzten Jahren in die private deutsche Kulturförderung in Afghanistan involviert.

Als Ausstellungsleiterin der Bundeskunsthalle kuratierte Susanne Annen , 1965 in Meerbusch geboren, im Jahr 2010 die Ausstellung "Afghanistan. Gerettete Schätze. Die Sammlung des Nationalmuseums in Kabul". Anschließend arbeitete sie in Kabul als Beraterin des afghanischen Ministeriums für Information und Kultur und organisierte und konzipierte Sammlungen, Ausgrabungen und Ausstellungen.

Natalie Amiri, geboren 1978 in München, Tochter einer deutschen Mutter und eines iranischen Vaters, berichtete ab 2007 als ARD-Korrespondentin aus Teheran, wofür sie unter anderem 2019 für den deutschen Fernsehpreis nominiert wurde. Amiri moderiert die ARD- Sendung "Weltspiegel" und den Euroblick im Bayerischen Fernsehen. Die Bestsellerautorin reiste wiederholt nach Afghanistan und arbeitet derzeit an einem Buch über das Land.

Abb. Rada Akbar, Colourful Life, 2011© Rada Akbar

_____
Bei Veranstaltungen gilt die 3G-Regel. Einlass nur mit Geimpften-/Genesenen-Nachweis oder mit negativem Corona-Test.
Aufgrund eines veränderten COVID-Infektionsgeschehens besteht immer das Risiko einer kurzfristigen Absage der Veranstaltung und der Veränderung der bestehenden Besucherregelungen.
Bitte informieren Sie sich vor Ihrem Besuch über die aktuellen Regelungen im Hinblick auf die COVID-19-Pandemie.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future
Das Diskursformat der Bundeskunsthalle

The Common Ground
WIE WIR UNS AUFEINANDER BEZIEHEN

Montag, 20. September, 20:15 Uhr, live im Forum (Einlass: 19.15–20.10 Uhr)
und im Livestream
12 €/erm. 8 € inkl. VRS über Bonnticket

Gehen politische Kämpfe unter in Identitätspolitik? Oder wird durch das gewachsene Selbstbewusstsein von Minderheiten und die Vervielfältigung der Perspektiven erst sichtbar, wie viel (weiße, mitteleuropäische, christliche) Identitätspolitik unsere Gesellschaft auch bisher schon bestimmt hat? Wie verändert sich das Zusammenleben durch die neuen Höflichkeiten und das Ringen um die richtigen Ausdrucksformen? Ist die Meinungsfreiheit bedroht, oder wird sie gerade erst erkämpft? Darüber diskutieren am 20. September 2021 die Journalistin Petra Gerster und der Journalist Mohamed Amjahid mit Studio Bonn-Moderator Kolja Reichert in einer Installation der Künstlerin Verena Issel.

Über zwanzig Jahre lang sprach Petra Gerster (geboren 1955 in Worms) die heute-Nachrichten im ZDF – zuletzt mit Genderstern. Seit ihrem Abschied aus den Nachrichten Ende Mai 2021 schreibt Petra Gerster mit ihrem Mann, dem Journalisten Christian Nürnberger, ein Buch über Identitätspolitik, das im November erscheint („Vermintes Gelände. Wie der Krieg um Wörter unsere Gesellschaft verändert“, Heyne 2021). Bei Studio Bonn spricht sie zum ersten Mal über ihre Beobachtungen und Thesen.

In seinen Büchern und Beiträgen in Zeitungen und sozialen Medien zeigt der Politikwissenschaftler und Journalist Mohamed Amjahid (geboren 1988 in Frankfurt am Main), wie struktureller Rassismus funktioniert – und wie eine Gesellschaft und eine Sprache aussehen könnten, in denen alle gleiche Rechte und gleichen Respekt genießen. Zuletzt erschien von Mohamed Amjahid „Der Weiße Fleck: Eine Anleitung zu antirassistischem Denken“ (Piper 2021), davor „Unter Weißen: Was es heißt, privilegiert zu sein“ (Hanser Berlin 2017).

In farbenfrohen Collagen und Installationen aus günstigen Materialien baut Verena Issel (geboren 1982 in München) Wiedergänger von Formen der Kunstgeschichte – und befragt diese auf ihre Gültigkeit für die digitale Gegenwart, die von einem Zerfließen der Formen bestimmt ist. Für Studio Bonn verwandelt Verena Issel ihre ortsspezifische Installation „SOFT RUINS (Aset in Tadmor II)“ (2018/2021) in ein Fernsehstudio. Die Installation mit antiken Säulen aus pastellfarbenem Schaumstoff entstand unter dem Eindruck der Zerstörung der Tempelanlage von Palmyra (auch Tadmor) durch den Islamischen Staat im Jahr 2015. Aset ist der mittelägyptische Name für Isis, die ägyptische Göttin der Zerstörung und des Wiederaufbaus.

_____
Bei Veranstaltungen gilt die 3G-Regel. Einlass nur mit Geimpften-/Genesenen-Nachweis oder mit negativem Corona-Test.
Aufgrund eines veränderten COVID-Infektionsgeschehens besteht immer das Risiko einer kurzfristigen Absage der Veranstaltung und der Veränderung der bestehenden Besucherregelungen.
Bitte informieren Sie sich vor Ihrem Besuch über die aktuellen Regelungen im Hinblick auf die COVID-19-Pandemie.

 

Sehen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Version des Videos.

STUDIO BONN. Diskurs in der Bundeskunsthalle

Exchange Values
KRYPTO-KAPITALISMUS

15. Juli, 20.15 Uhr, live im Forum (Einlass: 19.15–20.10 Uhr)
12 €/erm. 8 € inkl. VRS über Bonnticket

Die Künstlerin HITO STEYERL, der Literaturwissenschaftler JOSEPH VOGL und der Musiker VILLE HAIMALA von der Band Amnesia Scanner diskutieren mit KOLJA REICHERT die Chancen und Risiken eines dezentralen Internets für die Künste und die Demokratie.

GIBT ES KÜNFTIG NOCH EINEN UNTERSCHIED ZWISCHEN KUNST UND GELD?

Der Hype um Kryptokunst und digitale Eigentumszertifikate (NFTs) hat einen Karneval der Zeichen ausgelöst, in dem die Grenzen von Kultur, Ökonomie und Politik verschwimmen. Erlaubt die Blockchain-Technologie Auswege aus dem parasitären Plattformkapitalismus, in dem alle Nutzer*innen auf die Konten der Konzerne einzahlen? Oder führt sie zu noch schärferer Ungleichheit und der Finanzialisierung aller menschlichen Beziehungen?

In seinem Buch "Kapital und Ressentiment" (C.H. Beck 2021) setzt der Literaturwissenschaftler Joseph Vogl seine Erforschung der Finanzindustrie fort und zeigt, wie deren Allianz mit den Plattformkonzernen den Populismus zum lukrativen Geschäftsmodell gemacht hat.

Hito Steyerl nutzt die jeweils neuesten Technologien der Kontrolle und Überwachung als künstlerische Werkzeuge. Ihre grellwachen Videoinstallationen und Essays machten sie zu einer der weltweit einflussreichsten Künstlerinnen der Gegenwart.

Ville Haimalas Band Amnesia Scanner (mit Martti Kalliala) schafft erhabene, schwebende Standbilder des Informationsüberflusses voller widersprüchlicher, gegen den Strich gebürsteter Signale. Als einer der interessantesten Produzenten elektronischer Musik hat Haimala mit verschiedenen Künstler*innen gearbeitet, darunter Anne Imhofs aktuelle Ausstellung im Palais de Tokyo in Paris.

Zum ersten Mal sendet Studio Bonn live vor Publikum und weltweit im Livestream (englisch mit deutscher Simultanübersetzung) auf dieser Seite.

STUDIO BONN. Listening to the Future
Das Diskursformat der Bundeskunsthalle

The Common Ground
KULTUR UND KLASSENKAMPF

Dienstag, 22. Juni, 20:15 Uhr digital auf dieser Seite
und anschließend auf Abruf in der Mediathek

Künstlerin HENRIKE NAUMANN, Schriftstellerin ANKE STELLING und Soziologe ANDREAS RECKWITZ im Gespräch mit KOLJA REICHERT
In einer Installation von Henrike Naumann

Die Digitalisierung hat den Streit darüber, was kulturell wertvoll ist, aus den Museen in den Alltag getragen. Alle bewerten einander, jede*r ist Künstler*in, Kritiker*in und Werk. Die einen behaupten sich durch originelle Lebensentwürfe, die anderen verteidigen ihre vermeintlich authentischen Wurzeln. Wenn aber alles und jeder Kulturgut werden kann: Was ist dann noch die Rolle des Kunstwerks?
Ein Gespräch über die veränderten Dynamiken gesellschaftlicher Wertbildung, den verdeckten Klassenkampf durch Kultur und den Zusammenhang von Kultur und Populismus.

Mit Möbeln von Ebay Kleinanzeigen erforscht Henrike Naumann deutsche Psychogeografien nach 1989. Anke Stellings Romane entlarven die Lebenslüge der Selbstverwirklichung. Und Andreas Reckwitz hat mit der "Gesellschaft der Singularitäten" eine Kulturtheorie entwickelt, die das Erstarken des Populismus auch aus dem gewachsenen Stellenwert der Kultur erklärt.

KULTUR UND KLASSENKAMPF ist die zweite Folge des Themenzyklus THE COMMON GROUND über das Verhältnis von Kultur und Gesellschaft, der am 12. Mai im Bundeskanzlerbungalow eröffnet wurde. Diesmal ist STUDIO BONN zu Gast in der Installation "Ostalgie" der Künstlerin Henrike Naumann in der Ausstellung "Diversity United" in Berlin.

Das neue Diskursformat der Bundeskunsthalle geht an den Start
Premiere am 12. Mai 2021 mit Monika Grütters und Eva Kraus zur Zukunft der Kulturpolitik – im Stream aus dem Kanzlerbungalow

Mit STUDIO BONN startet die Bundeskunsthalle am 12. Mai 2021 ein neues Diskursformat. Es widmet sich in den kommenden Jahren verschiedenen Themenzyklen, beginnend mit der Programmreihe „The Common Ground“ über das Verhältnis von Kultur und Gesellschaft. Zur Premiere sprechen Kulturstaatsministerin Monika Grütters und Intendantin Eva Kraus mit dem neuen Programmkurator Kolja Reichert über die Zukunft der Kulturpolitik.

The Common Ground
Die Zukunft der Kulturpolitik
Mittwoch, 12. Mai 2021, 21.15 Uhr digital auf dieser Seite
im Stream aus dem Kanzlerbungalow und später auf Abruf in der Mediathek

Seit im Jahr 1992 die Bundeskunsthalle eröffnete, ist der politische Kurswert von Kultur konstant gestiegen. Das zeigt sich schon in den Budgetzuwächsen, die Kulturstaatsministerin Monika Grütters in acht Jahren Amtszeit erkämpfte – zuletzt in den zwei Kulturmilliarden zur Linderung der Folgen der Corona-Pandemie. Aber versteht die Politik wirklich, wie Kultur funktioniert und was sie leistet? Reichen die bestehenden Instrumente, um die Arbeit von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern zu sichern? Wie müssen Kultureinrichtungen sich verändern? Braucht es ein Bundeskulturministerium? Und was bleibt von der Kulturhoheit der Länder? Zur Premiere von STUDIO BONN diskutieren Kulturstaatsministerin Monika Grütters, Intendantin Eva Kraus und Kolja Reichert über die Zukunft der Kulturpolitik.

Kolja Reichert
Am 1. Juni übernimmt Kolja Reichert die neu geschaffene Position des Programmkurators mit Schwerpunkt Diskurs in der Bundeskunsthalle. Der bekannte Kunstkritiker und Kurator, 38, studierte Philosophie und Neuere deutsche Literatur an der Freien Universität Berlin. Ab 2006 schrieb Kolja Reichert regelmäßig in Feuilletons über Musik, Kunst und Stadtentwicklung; zwischen 2016 und 2017 verantwortete er in Vertretung die Kunstberichterstattung der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung, bis 2020 die der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Sonntagszeitung. Er unterrichtete an verschiedenen Hochschulen und schrieb Essays für Ausstellungskataloge, zuletzt über die Werke von Franz Erhard Walther und Kai Althoff. 2012 erhielt er den Preis für Kunstkritik der deutschen Kunstvereine und der Art Cologne. 2018 verlieh ihm die Akademie der Künste Berlin den Will-Grohmann-Preis. Im September 2021 erscheint sein Buch „Kryptokunst" in der Reihe Digitale Bildkulturen im Wagenbach Verlag.

Quellennachweise anzeigen
Abbildungen

Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Museumsmeile Bonn
Helmut-Kohl-Allee 4
53113 Bonn
T +49 228 9171–200

Öffnungszeiten

Montags geschlossen
Dienstag und Mittwoch, 10 bis 21 Uhr
Donnerstag bis Sonntag, 10 bis 19 Uhr
(und an allen Feiertagen, auch denen,
die auf einen Montag fallen)