In ‘Global Nerve Systems’ scientists, artists, and public officials discuss which senses we need to sharpen and which new narratives and world views are necessary in order to face coming disasters.

STUDIO BONN. Discourse in the Bundeskunsthalle

Global Nerve Systems
HOW WORLD WIDE DISASTERS ARE INTERCONNECTED

Thursday, 20 October, 7 p.m.
live in the Forum

with
Zita Sebesvari, Deputy Director of the Institute for Environment and Human Security at the United Nations University, Bonn
Pali Palavathanan, co-founder and Creative Director of the branding and digital agency TEMPLO, London
Grace Ndiritu, artist, London
Chair: Kolja Reichert

What does the elephant migration in southern China have to do with the famine in Madagascar? How are the forest fires in Europe connected with the floods in Lagos?

Zita Sebesvari, a climate researcher based in Bonn, describes how, as a result of climate change, one catastrophe triggers another – and which screws need to be turned to alleviate them. Sebesvari is lead author of the annual ‘Interconnected Disaster Risks’ report of the Institute for Environment and Human Security at the United Nations University in Bonn (UNU-EHS). The report is being picked up by media around the world, not least of all because of its unusual design by the London-based agency TEMPLO. Together with Sebesvari, TEMPLO’s Creative Director and Pali Palavathanan explains how the challenges of climate change can be presented in a way that makes solutions visible. Sebesvari and Palavathanan share their global view with the artist Grace Ndiritu, who incorporates diverse Indigenous economies and knowledge systems into her work. ‘Museums are dying’, argues Ndiritu, who seeks to heal the relationship with the planet through shamanistic performances.

‘How World Wide Disasters Are Interconnected’ is the start of the new STUDIO BONN series ‘GLOBAL NERVE SYSTEMS’. Here, scientists, artists, and public officials discuss which senses we need to sharpen and which new narratives and world views are necessary in order to face coming disasters.

The renowned environmental researcher Zita Sebesvari is Deputy Director of the Institute for Environment and Human Security at the United Nations University in Bonn and one of the three main authors of the ‘Interconnected Disaster Risks’ report. More

Pali Palavathanan co-founded TEMPLO together with Anoushka Rodda in 2013. The London-based branding and digital agency is committed to their ethos  ‘Creativity for Change’. In addition to the United Nations, TEMPLO’s clients include Greenpeace, Migrant Help, and Amnesty International. More

The work of Grace Ndiritu is represented in numerous collections. Her installation, ‘The Twin Tapestries’, is on view in the exhibition ‘YOYI! Care, Repair, Heal’ at the Gropius Bau in Berlin through 15 January 2023. Her second book, ‘Being Together: A Manual for Living’, was published in September 2022. More

For more on this topic, see also the Studio Bonn think tank ‘Contracts for Earth’ on the crisis of climate diplomacy and the benefits of Indigenous technologies.

The talk will be in English. A video with subtitles will be available at a later date at studiobonn.io.

A cooperation with the United Nations University.

Abb. © UNU-EHS, 2022

In „Globale Nervensysteme“ diskutieren Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Amtsträger*innen darüber, welche Sinne wir schärfen müssen und welche neuen Erzählungen und Weltbilder wir brauchen, um kommenden Katastrophen zu begegnen.

STUDIO BONN. Diskurs in der Bundeskunsthalle

Globale Nervensysteme
WIE KATASTROPHEN WELTWEIT ZUSAMMENHÄNGEN

Donnerstag, 20. Oktober, 19 Uhr
Live im Forum

mit:
Zita Sebesvari, stellvertretende Direktorin des Instituts für Umwelt und menschliche Sicherheit an der Universität der Vereinten Nationen, Bonn
Pali Palavathanan, Mitgründer und Creative Director der Branding- und Digitalagentur TEMPLO, London
Grace Ndiritu, Künstlerin, London
Moderation: Kolja Reichert

Was hat die Elefantenwanderung in Südchina mit der Hungersnot auf Madagaskar zu tun? Was die Waldbrände in Europa mit Überschwemmungen in Lagos?

Die Bonner Klimaforscherin Zita Sebesvari macht anschaulich, wie infolge des Klimawandels eine Katastrophe die andere bedingt - und an welchen Schrauben wir drehen müssen, um sie zu lindern. Sebesvari leitet den jährlichen „Interconnected Disaster Risks“-Bericht des Institut für Umwelt und menschliche Sicherheit der Universität der Vereinten Nationen in Bonn (UNU-EHS). Der Bericht wird von Medien weltweit aufgegriffen, nicht zuletzt wegen seiner außergewöhnlichen Gestaltung durch die Londoner Agentur Templo. Deren Kreativdirektor Pali Palavathanan erklärt gemeinsam mit Sebesvari, wie sich die Herausforderungen des Klimawandels so darstellen lassen, dass Lösungen sichtbar werden. Sebesvari und Palavathanan teilen ihren globalen Blick mit der Künstlerin Grace Ndiritu, die verschiedenste indigene Wirtschaftsweisen und Wissenssysteme in ihre Arbeit einfließen lässt. „Museen sterben“, sagt Ndiritu und versucht mit schamanistischen Performances die Beziehung zum Planeten zu heilen.

„Wie Katastrophen weltweit zusammenhängen“ ist der Auftakt der neuen STUDIO BONN-Serie „GLOBALE NERVENSYSTEME“. In ihr diskutieren Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Amtsträger*innen darüber, welche Sinne wir schärfen müssen und welche neuen Erzählungen und Weltbilder wir brauchen, um kommenden Katastrophen zu begegnen.

Die renommierte Umweltforscherin Zita Sebesvari ist stellvertretende Direktorin des Instituts für Umwelt und menschliche Sicherheit an der Universität der Vereinten Nationen, Bonn und eine der drei Hauptautor*innen des „Interconnected Disaster Risks“-Berichts. Mehr

Pali Palavathanan gründete 2013 gemeinsam mit Anoushka Rodda die Londoner Branding- und Digitalagentur TEMPLO, die sich dem Motto „Creativity for Change“ verschrieben hat. Zu TEMPLOs Kunden zählen neben den Vereinten Nationen Greenpeace, Migrant Help oder Amnesty International. Mehr

Grace Ndiritus Werk ist in zahlreichen Sammlungen vertreten. Bis 15. Januar 2023 ist die Installation „The Twin Tapestries“ in der Ausstellung „YOYI! Care, Repair, Heal“ im Gropius Bau, Berlin zu sehen.  Im September 2022 ist Grace Ndiritus zweites Buch „Being Together: A Manual for Living“ erschienen. Mehr

Siehe zum Thema auch das Studio Bonn „Verträge für die Erde“ über die Krise der Klimadiplomatie und die Vorteile indigener Technologien.

Das Gespräch findet auf Englisch statt. Eine Fassung mit Untertiteln wird später auf studiobonn.io zur Verfügung stehen.

Eine Kooperation mit der United Nations University.

Abb. © UNU-EHS, 2022