The 22nd of April 2024 marks the 300th anniversary of the birth of the philosopher Immanuel Kant (1724–1804). To this day, Kant’s ground-breaking contribution to the Enlightenment, his thoughts on ethics, emancipation, epistemology and international law have lost none of their significance as points of reference. The exhibition sets out to introduce his work to a general audience, and especially to young visitors, who do not necessarily have any solid grounding in philosophy.

„Have the courage to use your own reason!“ – Immanuel Kant

The four famous Kantian questions: ‘What can I know?’, ‘What ought I to do?’, ‘What can I hope for?’, ‘What is man?’ structure the exhibition in terms of content. Within this framework, thematic “traces” are laid and methodological approaches are opened up, which are intended to bring the audience closer to Kant’s complex universe of thought:

A wall-filling biography in the style of a graphic novel that runs around the entire exhibition presents formative – partly unknown, partly amusing – aspects of the life and work of Immanuel Kant. Paintings, graphics and personal items from the philosopher's environment fit into this biographical narrative and give it a historical dimension.

The East Prussian residential and university town of Königsberg was the center of Immanuel Kant's life. It was almost completely destroyed in 1944/45. With the help of virtual reality, the flourishing Königsberg of the 18th century is digitally reconstructed: several VR stations enable an imaginary journey into the world of Immanuel Kant. Short game scenes enable central aspects of Kant's thought and the Enlightenment to be experienced virtually.

First editions and original texts of Kant's main works Critique of Pure Reason, Critique of Practical Reason and Critique of Judgment are made accessible through targeted commentaries. At various points in the exhibition, problematic aspects of Kant's reception are critically reflected in collaboration with the research project “How to deal with racism, sexism and anti-Semitism in works of classical German philosophy?”

Several “thinking stations” enable playful access to central philosophical questions (in the sense of “doing philosophy”).

Selected artistic positions open up new horizons of questioning in Kantian philosophy and reveal further possible associations. Works by Richard Artschwager, Joseph Beuys, Andrea Büttner, Björn Dahlem, Fischli & Weiss, Phillipp Goldbach, Francisco Goya, Rebecca Horn, Anselm Kiefer, Paul Klee, Roy Lichtenstein, Christoph M. Loos, Victor Vasarely and Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz are shown.

#KantFragen

Behind the Art

Behind the Art

Immanuel Kant. Unresolved Issues

Virtual reality world of Immanuel Kant

Based on maps, chronicles, descriptions of the city and nature, a complete virtual reconstruction of the city of Königsberg was created in virtual reality. Teams of VR operators and 3D designers created a virtual twin of Königsberg in a year and a half and with expert advice from historians. The reconstruction includes 5378 houses, 557 municipal/municipal buildings, 3369 outbuildings or stable buildings, 444 industrial and port buildings as well as 2205 gardens and 680 parks. Don't miss this opportunity and explore the city of Königsberg at the VR stations in the exhibition.

Funded by:

Experience the world of Kant!

Experience the world of Kant!

by men@work Media Services S.R.L., Bukarest

Plan your visit

Contact & Partners

Curators

📧 Agnieszka Lulińska
Thomas Ebers

Press Officer

📧 Sven Bergmann

 

An exhibition in cooperation with the East Prussian State Museum with German-Baltic Department, Lüneburg

Cooperation partner “Critical Interventions in the Kant Exhibition”: DFG Reinhart-Koselleck Project “How to deal with racism, sexism and anti-Semitism in works of classical German philosophy?”, Institute for Philosophy at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena

The lecture series “Kant and the Present” in collaboration with the Digital Kant Center NRW and the University of Bonn forms a content-related bridge to the 14th International Kant Congress, which will be held from September 8th to 13th, 2024 by the Institute for Philosophy at the University of Bonn and the Kant Society e. V. (Germany).

Media Partners

Cultural Partners

Cooperation Partners


DFG-Forschungsprojekt
„Wie umgehen mit …?“
der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Am 22. April 2024 jährt sich der Geburtstag des Philosophen Immanuel Kant (1724–1804) zum 300. Mal. Kants Beiträge zur Aufklärung, seine Überlegungen zur Ethik, Erkenntnistheorie und zum Völkerrecht haben bis heute nichts von ihrer Dringlichkeit verloren. Die Ausstellung will sein Werk einem breiten Publikum erschließen und möchte dabei unterschiedliche Altersgruppen sowie interessierte Besucher*innen mit und ohne philosophische Vorbildung ansprechen. Gleichzeitig sollen die Aktualität der Philosophie Immanuel Kants und er selbst als „Denkzeitgenosse“ ins Bewusstsein gerückt werden.

„Habe Mut, dich deines eigenen Verstandes zu bedienen!“ – Immanuel Kant

Die vier berühmten Kantischen Fragen: „Was kann ich wissen? Was soll ich tun? Was darf ich hoffen? Was ist der Mensch?“ strukturieren die Ausstellung inhaltlich. In diesem Rahmen werden thematische „Spuren“ gelegt und methodische Zugänge geöffnet, die dem Publikum das komplexe Denkuniversum Kants näher bringen sollen:

Eine wandfüllende, die gesamte Ausstellung umlaufende Biografie im Stil einer Graphic Novel führt prägende – teils unbekannte, teils amüsante – Aspekte des Lebens und Wirkens von Immanuel Kant vor Augen. Gemälde, Grafiken und persönliche Gegenstände aus dem Umfeld des Philosophen fügen sich in diese biografische Erzählung ein und verleihen ihr eine historische Dimension.

Die ostpreußische Residenz- und Universitätsstadt Königsberg bildete den Lebensmittelpunkt von Immanuel Kant. Sie wurde 1944/45 fast vollständig zerstört. Mit Hilfe der Virtual Reality wird das blühende Königsberg des 18. Jahrhunderts digital rekonstruiert: mehrere VR-Stationen ermöglichen eine imaginäre Reise in die Welt des Immanuel Kant. Kurze Spielszenen machen zentrale Aspekte des Denkens Kants und der Aufklärung virtuell erlebbar.

Erstausgaben und Originaltexte der Kantischen Hauptwerke Kritik der reinen Vernunft, Kritik der praktischen Vernunft und Kritik der Urteilskraft werden durch gezielte Kommentare erschlossen. An unterschiedlichen Stellen der Ausstellung werden problematische Aspekte der Kant-Rezeption in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forschungsprojekt „Wie umgehen mit Rassismus, Sexismus und Antisemitismus in Werken der klassischen Deutschen Philosophie?“ kritisch reflektiert.

Mehrere „Mitdenkstationen“ ermöglichen einen spielerischen Zugang zu zentralen philosophischen Fragestellungen (im Sinne von „Philosophie machen“).

Ausgewählte künstlerische Positionen eröffnen neue Fragehorizonte der Kantischen Philosophie und offenbaren weitere Assoziationsmöglichkeiten. Gezeigt werden Arbeiten von Richard Artschwager, Joseph Beuys, Andrea Büttner, Björn Dahlem, Fischli & Weiss, Phillipp Goldbach, Francisco Goya, Rebecca Horn, Anselm Kiefer, Paul Klee, Roy Lichtenstein, Christoph M. Loos, Victor Vasarely und Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz.

#KantFragen

Behind the Art

Behind the Art

Immanuel Kant und die offenen Fragen

Virtual-Reality-Welt des Immanuel Kant

Basierend auf Kartenmaterial, Chroniken, Stadt- und Naturbeschreibungen entstand eine vollständige virtuelle Rekonstruktion der Stadt Königsberg in Virtual Reality. Teams aus VR-Operator*innen und 3D-Gestalter*innen schufen in eineinhalb Jahren und unter fachlicher Beratung von Historiker*innen einen virtuellen Zwilling von Königsberg. Die Rekonstruktion umfasst 5378 Häuser, 557 städtische/kommunale Gebäude, 3369 Neben- oder Stallgebäude, 444 industrielle- und Hafengebäude sowie 2205 Gärten und 680 Parks. Lassen Sie sich diese Gelegenheit nicht entgehen und erkunden Sie die Stadt Königsberg an den VR-Stationen in der Ausstellung.

Gefördert durch:

Erleben Sie die Welt von Kant!

Erleben Sie die Welt von Kant!

by men@work Media Services S.R.L., Bukarest

Planen Sie Ihren Besuch

Kontakt & Partner

Kurator*innen

📧 Agnieszka Lulińska
Thomas Ebers

Pressesprecher

📧 Sven Bergmann

 

Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit dem Ostpreußischen Landesmuseum mit Deutschbaltischer Abteilung, Lüneburg

Kooperationspartner „Kritische Interventionen in der Kant-Ausstellung“: DFG Reinhart-Koselleck-Projekt „Wie umgehen mit Rassismus, Sexismus und Antisemitismus in Werken der klassischen Deutschen Philosophie?“, Institut für Philosophie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Die Vortragsreihe „Kant und die Gegenwart“ in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Digitalen Kant-Zentrum NRW und der Universität Bonn bildet eine inhaltliche Brücke zum 14. Internationalen Kant-Kongress, der vom 8. bis zum 13. September 2024 vom Institut für Philosophie der Universität Bonn und der Kant-Gesellschaft e. V. (Deutschland) ausgerichtet wird.

Medienpartner

Kulturpartner

Kooperationspartner


DFG-Forschungsprojekt
„Wie umgehen mit …?“
der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Vortragsreihe & Veranstaltungen