The German conceptual artist Anna Oppermann (1940–1993) left behind an important oeuvre that deserves to be rediscovered. The exhibition presents her extensive work - from early pencil drawings to brightly colored works in mixed media to one of her last major works.

After studying at the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, she occupied an important and unique position in the German art scene from the late 1960s. Through her participation in documenta 6 and 8 in Kassel alone, she was known early on in the international context.

Her early artistic work from the 1960s shows her preoccupation with Surrealism, Dadaism and Pop Art and her intense interest in questions of perception. The growth and expansion of a theme as a collage on the picture or beyond the edge of the picture and into the room leads to her first picture-space collages from 1968, such as Being a Housewife.

„From the simple to the complicated, from the private to the public.“ – Anna Oppermann, 1984

Characteristic of her main work is the disclosure of the artistic process associated with her work and her reflections, which flow into arrangements of notes, drawings, photographs, print and objects; In addition to the visual, language is also an essential part of her work. For this purpose, she coined the term “ensemble” – process-based spatial collages that both encompass the installed work and illustrate the underlying method: “What I call an ensemble is created using a specific method, is documentation of this method and always also an aid to reflection for further investigations in the spirit of the method.”

These complex formulations demonstrate Oppermann's radical understanding of a work: it is open and dialogical, the process is immanent. Instead of clearly formed results, it shows the path of image production with its errors, detours, reductions, adaptations, repetitions and excesses. Exuberant, complex, but also smaller assemblages, rhizome-like constellations allow us to immerse ourselves in the search for and preservation of traces; she excludes “final, absolute formulations”.

With her work, Oppermann moves between everyday life and the art world, between mass media and various scientific disciplines, in order to trace the mutual conditions and effects between the private and the general, between simplicity and complexity. Contrasting, unfinished, private, everyday, traditional, fragmentary, but also sensual or kitschy elements are presented in an overwhelming variety in the ensembles, which reveal the idea for the occasion or the idea behind the work through their titles. Central topics are questions of perception, social or power structures, interpersonal relationships, the compatibility of being an artist and family, mechanisms of the art market, questions of economics and much more.

Anna Oppermann's works are both an expression of a process of self-questioning and an “offer for communication” about fundamental social and general human issues.

Posthumously, her ensembles are transferred to the present in a so-called interpretive new installation. This practice is based on both previous installations and the artistic method itself, knowing Oppermann's openness and generosity in dealing with her work.

#AnnaOppermann

Behind the Art

Behind the Art

Anna Oppermann. A Retroperspective

Plan your visit

Contact & Partners

Curators

📧 Susanne Kleine
Anna Schäffler

Press Officer

📧 Sven Bergmann

Cooperation Partners

The exhibition is a co-operation with the estate of Anna Oppermann. Barbara Thumm is responsible for the administration of the estate.

Cultural Partner

Die deutsche Konzeptkünstlerin Anna Oppermann (1940–1993) hat ein bedeutendes Œuvre hinterlassen, das neu entdeckt werden will. Die Ausstellung präsentiert ihr reichhaltiges Schaffen – von frühen Bleistiftzeichnungen über starkfarbige Arbeiten in Mischtechniken bis hin zu einem ihrer letzten großen Werke.

Nach ihrem Studium an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg nahm sie ab Ende der 1960er-Jahre eine wichtige und singuläre Position in der deutschen Kunstszene ein. Allein durch ihre Teilnahme an der documenta 6 und 8 in Kassel war sie schon früh im internationalen Kontext bekannt.

An ihrem bildnerischen Frühwerk der 1960er-Jahre lässt sich ihre Beschäftigung mit dem Surrealismus, Dadaismus oder der Pop-Art und ihr intensives Interesse an Wahrnehmungsfragen ablesen. Das Wachsen und sich Ausbreiten eines Themas als Collage auf dem Bild oder über den Bildrand hinaus und in den Raum hinein mündet ab 1968 in ihre ersten Bild-Raum-Collagen, etwa Hausfrau sein.

„Vom Einfachen zum Komplizierten, vom Privaten zum Allgemeinen.“ – Anna Oppermann, 1984

Charakteristisch für ihr Hauptwerk sind die mit ihrer Arbeit einhergehende Offenlegung des künstlerischen Prozesses und ihre Reflexionen, die in Arrangements aus Notizen, Zeichnungen, Fotografien, Gedrucktem und Objekten einfließen; Sprache ist neben dem Bildnerischen ebenfalls ein wesentlicher Bestandteil ihres Werkes. Hierfür prägte sie den Begriff des „Ensembles“ – prozesshafte angelegte Raumcollagen, die sowohl das installierte Werk umfassen als auch die zugrundeliegende Methode verdeutlichen: „Das, was ich Ensemble nenne, entsteht in Anwendung einer bestimmten Methode, ist Dokumentation dieser Methode und immer auch Reflexionshilfe bei weiterführenden Untersuchungen im Sinne der Methode.“

Diese komplexen Formulierungen belegen Oppermanns radikales Verständnis eines Werkes: Es ist offen und dialogisch angelegt, der Prozess ist immanent. Statt klar geformter Ergebnisse zeigt sie den Weg der Bildproduktion mit seinen Fehlern, Umwegen, Reduktionen, Adaptionen, Wiederholungen und Überschüssen. Überbordende, komplexe, aber auch kleinere Assemblagen, rhizomartige Konstellationen erlauben ein Eintauchen in ihre Spurensuchen und -sicherungen, „endgültige, sich absolut gebärdende Formulierungen“ schließt sie aus.

Oppermann bewegt sich mit ihren Arbeiten zwischen Alltag und Kunstwelt, zwischen Massenmedien und diversen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen, um die wechselseitigen Bedingungen und Wirkungen zwischen Privatem und Allgemeinem, von Einfachheit und Komplexität nachzuzeichnen. Gegensätzliches, Unfertiges, Privates, Alltägliches, Tradiertes, Fragmentarisches, aber auch Sinnliches oder Kitschiges präsentieren sich in einer überwältigenden Vielfalt in den Ensembles, die durch ihre Titel die Idee für den Anlass oder den Werkgedanken offenlegen. Zentrale Themen sind Fragen der Wahrnehmung, gesellschaftliche oder Machtgefüge, Zwischenmenschliches, die Vereinbarkeit von Künstler sein und Familie, Mechanismen des Kunstmarktes, Fragen der Ökonomie und vieles mehr.

Anna Oppermanns Werke sind sowohl Ausdruck eines Prozesses der Selbstbefragung als auch ein „Angebot zur Kommunikation“ über grundlegende gesellschaftliche und allgemein menschliche Themen.

Posthum werden ihre Ensembles in einer sogenannten Interpretierenden Neuinstallation in die Gegenwart übertragen. Diese Praxis orientiert sich sowohl an bisherigen Installationen als auch der künstlerischen Methode selbst, wissend um Oppermanns Offenheit und Großzügigkeit im Umgang mit ihrem Werk.

#AnnaOppermann

Behind the Art

Behind the Art

Anna Oppermann. Eine Retroperspektive

Planen Sie Ihren Besuch

Kontakt & Partner

Kurator*innen

📧 Susanne Kleine
Anna Schäffler

Pressesprecher

📧 Sven Bergmann

Kooperationspartner

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation mit dem Nachlass Anna Oppermann. Die Nachlassverwaltung obliegt Barbara Thumm.

Kulturpartner

Die nächsten Veranstaltungen